Porcini Mushroom Soup

Ceramic bowl on white tiled counter with flowered napkin and spoon.
I love soup. Particularly the Porcini Mushroom Soup from 101 Cookbooks, and it has been on the top of the list of internet recipes I want to try. The problem with recipes is that you have to make them to find out if they’re any good, so it’s taking me a loooong time to go through my list. I have had more recipes turn out kinda weird than a wonderful amalgamation of the flavors I had hoped for, so I’m hesitant to try new things. Unless, of course, it’s a cookie recipe. The best solution I can see to getting over my hesitation is to cook more so I can learn when to adjust a recipe and when to not mess around with changing a recipe at all.

But like I said, I love this soup. I found it had the deep dark flavor I was hoping for, the flavor I imagined when I saw the picture. I could eat many deep bowls of this soup, and for once the recipe came out looking surprisingly like the picture! (Of course I totally blanked on taking a picture of this deliciousness. For sure next time). I also think that this soup should be eaten with some delicious, hearty bread. My wonderful mother made us some fried egg sandwiches and they complimented the soup nicely, as did the bowl in the picture, which is from my favorite set we have. It always seems special to use them for soup when we have dinner, even more so when the soup turned out so nice. Clearly this cooking more often thing is a good idea.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

